House re-elects Boehner as speaker over conservative opposition

dJanuary 6, 2015

Associated Press| Rare:   (Screen Shot Credit, Rare)

 

WASHINGTON — The House has re-elected John Boehner to be speaker in the new Republican-led Congress, despite opposition by tea party lawmakers that underscored party divisions.

The Ohio Republican garnered the votes of 216 GOP lawmakers as Congress convened Tuesday. That was enough for him to win a third two-year term leading the House.

But in an embarrassing slap, 25 Republicans voted for other candidates or voted present. They consider Boehner to be too accommodating and not conservative enough.

Read more at Rare: 

 

8 thoughts on “House re-elects Boehner as speaker over conservative opposition

  1. I have to tell you, first, Lorra, that I am SO done with Congressman Paul Ryan. I called Capital Hill all afternoon yesterday and got one ring and then nothing. The phone lines were jammed! People all over the U.S. were trying to contact their Reps to NOT vote for Boehner for Speaker. He is a liar and in POTUS’ pocket. Once I finally got through to an operator, she kindly directed my call to his office, which, of course, was now closed. So I had to leave a message. I don’t know if you have ever tried to leave a message on their voice mail system, but it was incredibly complicated or I’m an imbecile. I finally managed to leave a message. While I was waiting to get through, I sent an email through his web site. Today, I called Capital Hill again, and got his voice mail, and I said that if he votes for Boehner for Speaker again, then I am done with the GOP, I will not ever vote for him again, and that he doesn’t care at all about representing his constituents.

    I wanted to let you know, as I had defended him. I was so wrong and I openly admit it. I have completely lost all hope in our government as it is completely corrupt at every turn. We are in the wrong business! We should be politicians. Then we could subject the Americans to whatever we want and opt ourselves out, we can vote to give ourselves raises, we can go on vacation and call it a convention or a peace-keeping trip and do it all on the tax-payers’ dollar without spending a dime of our own. We can sit there for as long as we like and we get paid for life!

    But then, we can’t do that because WE have integrity, honor, values, and beliefs.

    Humbly ashamed,
    Rhonda aka nanarhonda

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a travesty, nothing less. I was actually SHOCKED at the re-election! Trying to call these days is nothing but a joke and all you will get is redirected or leave a COMPLICATED message. UGH! At least you tried, which is more than I can say for may folks!
      Hang tight Rhonda! The fight continues!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is a travesty. I wasn’t shocked though. You are right about leaving a message!
        How does the fight continue? I am at the TEA Party website and the people there are arguing over who to vote for and NO ONE HAS ANNOUNCED A BID YET! They don’t like it when I call them out on the Rules of Conduct, either. But if the moderators don’t and the other members don’t, someone has to. Using inappropriate language like the “N” word and the f-bomb are expressly forbidden in the Rules of Conduct.
        My point is this. Here is a group of people already ‘debating’ about who to vote for or back in 2016, and no one has actually announced that they are running. Sure there is specuation. We know Huckabee has left Fox because he is considering a bid, my Gov., Walker is considering a bid, that’s all the intel I have. But no one on either side has actually announced they are officially running yet and people are already debating it!
        And who is there that anyone can actually stand behind? They all whisper sweet nothings until they get into office where they can do what they want and BHO has been the best example of that in history. Sorry for being so gloom and doom, but I see no hope unless this Nation rises up and takes our WH, Capitol Hill, Pentagon, et al back by force. Oust who we have there, cut off their forever paychecks. Pull the money out of the corrupt countries like Mexico, all the Central American Countries, the terrorist organizations that our tax dollars have gone to hand delivered by Sec. of State John Kerry. Executive orders to fund Hamas. Everything is so upside down. Please tell me how to hang tight and how the fight continues, because right now, I can’t see it, Lorra.

        Like

      • I’m sorry your discouraged…I think we all are. The fight continues by NEVER giving up! They want exactly that. We simply regroup and see what can be done and fix yourself with another goal. Easier said than done, I realize. But, the fact that you are simply blogging and sending a message out is, in itself, a step in the right direction. Imagine if everyone would have thrown their hands up with women getting a vote…many, many hoops had to be jumped through–yet, we prevailed! Never give up… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lorra,
        You are always so optimistic. The fight continues but in all honesty, I believe the fight was lost once POTUS gained access to the Oval Office, particularly his second term and he is “untouchable” in his eyes.

        I will continue to blog. My husband is expecting men in black suits to knock on the door. LOL I said, “So what, I’m an invalid, what can I do?” Let them come.

        But I blog largely out of frustration and a place to vent as I have nowhere else to talk about it. My husband doesn’t want to talk about politics in any way, shape or form nor does he want to hear about it. So, I can talk to the TV, the dog, and blog. Whomever reads it, if it makes a positive impact on whom they will consider in elections where their vote really matters, then I have done something of value. But as for the election of the POTUS/VPOTUS, that is up to the electoral college and the popular vote means nothing but a lot of tax dollars to make people “feel” like their vote counts and to shame those that didn’t come out to vote. Another waste of our tax dollars.

        Perhaps it was better when women didn’t get to vote. Then we wouldn’t have had the Liberal Woman’s Movement that can take your child to get an abortion without YOUR consent. I was born in the wrong era. I should have been born in my mother’s era when there was a sense of community, people looked out for each other, when you went into the voting booth it was for the betterment of the country, not just for “me and mine” like it is today. This is the most self-centered society I have ever been exposed to and I feel so bad that there is nothing to hand down to my grandchildren of the Country that was one the Land of the free and the Home of the Brave…. ONE NATION, UNDER GOD, INDIVISIBLE, WITH LIBERTY, AND JUSTICE FOR ALL.

        Children aren’t even taught the Pledge of Allegiance of the Flag anymore. They aren’t even being taught cursive writing! Which means they cannot sign their name.

        I will cease my ramblings for now and simply say “thank you for your encouragement!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

