Past, Present, And Future – On Memorial Day We Salute You, Our Precious Veterans!

dMay 24, 2015

By Lorra B. For Silent Soldier

As we spend Memorial Day with friends and family, let us take a moment and consider who sacrificed in order that we might have the freedoms we hold so dearly.

Past, Present, and Future – Consider the people who will not be celebrating with their loved ones, those who have given the ultimate sacrifice with their very lives while serving in the country’s Armed Forces.

Give also thanks to the people who suffered great loss and distress and sing their praises for if not for the unselfish and courageous acts of these brave families we might not be living freely today.

Though the words will simply never be enough, for they ring hollow in light of their forfeitures, we thank you our precious Veterans – Past, Present, and Future.

In honor of our Precious Veterans this Memorial Day, enjoy a compilation of poems…

Eyes of Blue

A people persecuted beyond imagination;To help them he felt, was his obligation.He joined the army in World War II;Not knowing his hell would be Eyes of Blue. When he reached Normandy, the beaches were red.Crawling over his brothers who lay already dead.To give this tyrant, this devil his due;Not knowing his own demons, would be Eyes of Blue. He rounded a building securing a town;A young German soldier was just coming round.He plunged his bayonet, the quicker of the two;Killing the young soldier, with Eyes of Blue. He knelt down beside him with tears in his eyes;How long this moment would last, he did not realize.He closed the eyes as he thought he should do;Thinking never again to see those Eyes of Blue. The victor over many in Germany and Japan;It was always difficult taking life from a man.None would haunt him, this he now knew;As long as the soldier, with Eyes of Blue. He died an old man, to heaven he went;For this honorable soldier, mercy was sent.First time since the war, so sad but true;A peaceful sleep, not seeing Eyes of Blue.

A Service Member’s Prayer

A Service Member’s Prayer Oh, God, I feel that I have cause To know my life might give You pause,But fair as You are sure to be,I seek Your way on bended knee.I wish neither to kill nor die,Though from engagement I’ll not shy.For if my duty calls me there,I’ll do whatever I must dare. I seek not courage for the fight.I seek not comfort from the night.I ask not pardon for my deeds,Nor any salve for any needs.I only ask to know what’s right,To do my best to check my might,To render mercy where I should,To know I serve the greater good. Oh, God, if You will hear my plea,I ask so very much of thee.I fear not men, I fear not death,Yet bow my head and still my breath To ask You, please, to do Your best,To keep me from eternal rest,Until the hour my duty sends Me home to family and friends. And if You grant my humble prayer,Oh, God, I ask You, keep from care Those people whom I hold most dear.I wish them not to shed a tear In anguish over days now done,Where my dawn was their setting sun.For then, if You will grant my plea,I’ll soon be nearer them and Thee. Copyright Shawn H. Hall 2014

We Salute Our Veterans This Memorial Day

We salute every soldier who’s served this great nation.And offer a heart of thanks and appreciation! We salute each member of our armed forces.And are thankful for their efforts and resources! We salute the many who protect our borders too.We’d be in trouble…  If not for people like YOU! We salute every son and daughter lost in a war.YOU are what serving this country is meant for! We salute the officers who’ve guided our women and men.Our prayers are with you!  And our love from within! We salute our veterans!  Wherever they may be!Those who served on land, air and sea! Offering prayer to the Lord is our belief…That he will guide our Commander-in-Chief! As we observe Memorial Day this year…Let’s offer our soldiers love, hope and cheer! May God bless them in all they endeavor And his peace be with them today and forever!! By Jim Pemberton

4 thoughts on “Past, Present, And Future – On Memorial Day We Salute You, Our Precious Veterans!

Leave a Reply

